home  |   presentation  |   research  |   the cemetery  |   chronology  |   tombstones  |   360º views   |   references  |   credits  |   © 2012 Centre d'Estudis Zakhor




The definition of the area of the ancient Jewish cemetery of Montjuīc had not been accurately established until now. Its use as a necropolis dates as far back as the 9th century until the end of the 14th century, when it is abandoned after the Jewish community does not recover from the attacks of 1391. From that moment on the process of tombstones spoliation causes the disappearance of one of the most visible references for its localization. In addition to this loss, there are a series of changes during centuries, due to the continuous divisions and transmissions of properties, which affected the actual land of the cemetery as well as that of surrounding plots. In the cartography of 17th and 18th centuries we can still observe place names that would refer to its existence: the Fort dels Juifs or the Plain dels Juifs (Fort or Plaine of the Jews). Probably this last one is given in relation to the site where the necropolis is.

In fact, almost none of the old medieval documents consulted establish its limits in a direct and precise way, except a description of the change of ownership from July 13, 1395 (ACS, Jaume de Corts, Vol 2, Vendes 1394-1400, f. 171-178v).

The delimitation of the cemetery was a very important requirement when opening the process for the declaration of a Cultural Site of National Interest as a Historic Site (according to Catalan Cultural Heritage Law 9/1993). The Center of Studies Zakhor, in collaboration with The Center of Studies for Montjuïc, developed a research project with the intention to obtain information from sources other than direct intervention on the ground. Thus, the site of the necropolis and those buried in it, would be respected according to Jewish tradition. It establishes that we bury until the end of days and it is forbidden to exhume bodies even centuries after the burial. (Funeral Tradition in Judaism. Lleonard Muntaner Editors, in Catalan)

location plan


area estudiada  area of study on Montjuïcres azul Major Call and Minor Call (Jewish quarters in the Middle Ages)





present air view of area studied


vista montjuic 1880



View of Montjuīc hill
Unknown author
Arxiu Fotogrāfic de Barcelona


la gran terraza



Construction of the large terrace of Miramar for the Universal Exhibition of 1929, (detail)
Aeronautical Naval School, 1927.
Arxiu Fotogràfic de Barcelona

Book of Jaume de Corts [pdf]

Vol. 2, Vendes 1394-1400, folios 171r a 178v
Archivo Comarcal de la Segarra, Cervera (ACS)